1 Comment

How to write a statement for the notary (example)

If you are going to meet with the notary to have him or her notarize a statement from you, the “California Notorial Wording” should be included at the bottom of the statement.  Often times, this wording is not included in personal statements, and the notary can attach a “loose certificate” that includes the notarial wording.  I like to advise my clients about this, since some clients want the actual statement stamped as well.

If you write a statement, and you want the notary to stamp THAT document, it MUST contain “Calfornia Notorial Wording,” or the notary will not stamp the document.

Example:

12-29-2011

Re:  Vehicle Release

To Whom it May Concern:

I, John Doe, give my wife, Jane Doe, authorization to pick up my vehicle from Drake’s Tow Yard in Livermore, California.  My car is a Toyota Camry, year 2010 with California license plate  #345yuN.

Thank you,

_______________________

John Doe

ACKNOWLEDGMENT

State of California
County of _____________________________)

On _________________________ before me, _________________________________________ (insert name and title of the officer)

personally appeared ____________________________________________________, who proved to me on the basis of satisfactory evidence to be the person(s) whose name(s) is/are subscribed to the within instrument and acknowledged to me that he/she/they executed the same in his/her/their authorized capacity(ies), and that by his/her/their signature(s) on the instrument the person(s), or the entity upon behalf of which the person(s) acted, executed the instrument.

I certify under PENALTY OF PERJURY under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing paragraph is true and correct.

WITNESS my hand and official seal.

Signature ______________________________ (Seal)

California Notorial Wording, begins with “ACKNOWLEDGMENT”  Just cut and paste that after any statement you type up and the notary can stamp your document. If your statement does not contain this wording, then a loose certificate will be attached.

page1image9304
One comment on “How to write a statement for the notary (example)

  1. Hi there – I just found you website through the wordpress blog search.
    I wanted to see if you might be interested in a link exchange since we serve similar clients but in different regions. I work in the South Bay / Silicon Valley.

    I’d be happy to put link to your site in my Business Partners area if you’d give me a link back.

    If you’re interested just drop me a line.

    Thanks and hope 2012 is good for your business.

    Neil

Leave a Reply

